The All-New Heraldic Criticism

HCLOGOHello, all! It’s been just about six months since Heraldic Criticism’s inception, and what a great run it’s been so far. Up until now, I wanted to focus more on my writing first and foremost. In that respect, I’m very pleased with how things have been going and hope I can provide even better posts in the future. For those following, I apologize for the inconsistency of my posting schedule; again, I’m just starting out and hope to have a steadier flow of articles in the near future.

In my first blog post, I shared my plan to revamp the layout of the site eventually, and now, my time has freed up enough for me to be able to completely redesign the blog. I’m also enacting some other changes to make everything look better and be generally more accessible, so I thought I’d take a moment to let you all know about some of the exciting new updates you can expect soon:

New Pages

As you can see, the pages on the site are looking a bit sparse. I’m planning on writing and pinning up several new pages detailing the blog’s mythological ties and how they apply to modern media. I’m still getting the details in order, but you can definitely expect an updated About page, further info about me, and more.

New Layout

As I mentioned, the current layout will be changed to something far less bland and far more dynamic. The above logo is a bit of a tease for what you can expect in the new site header/logo, and I hope to be able to find a matching layout soon. In the coming weeks, I’ll be experimenting with different styles and it’ll take a while before I settle on any one in particular, so don’t be alarmed if you’re visiting and the site is constantly changing.

Heraldic Criticism on Twitter

Often times, my perfectionist nature leads me to complete blog entries well after the news they’re centered on has passed out of the public conscious. With a new Twitter account linked directly to the blog, you’ll be able to get my real-time reactions to bits of news that are too small or fleeting to devote full entries to, while still getting to hear from me more than once a week. I’ll also try to post updates to the site itself on the account to keep everyone updated. The new Twitter will be up and easily viewable here on the blog shortly, so be sure to follow me!

E3 and Comic Con

Next week starts the annual E3 video game convention, which means a shitton of news and updates on all the latest video games. Following each day of the event, I’ll be posting news and reactions as I scour the internet for the latest updates and watch press conferences from giants like Nintendo and Sony firsthand. Anything that interests me, anything I have something to say about, I’ll write about it.

I’ll be doing the same for the annual San Diego Comic-Con this July, though I’ll be announcing what panels and events I’ll be following and commentating on beforehand. I look at liveblogs, videos, firsthand recaps…everything and anything to get the full experience without actually getting off my lazy ass and going there. This year is sure to be one of the biggest and best yet, with films like The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey, Man of Steel, Iron Man 3, Thor 2, and more sure to make an appearance.

 

That’s about it for now. As always, any feedback, comments, questions are welcome and appreciated. I want to make the new Heraldic Criticism as attractive, easy, and accessible for my readers as possible, so let me know how you guys feel about the new design in the weeks to come. Thank you all very much, and here’s to another great six months and beyond!

Leave a Reply

