UPDATE: We’re Merging! and Other Major Updates

 

Er…sort of.

Hello dear followers. I have left you in the dark yet again as to where I’ve been, and for that I sincerely apologize. I’ve mostly been working my ass off since the beginning of August, only barely being able to squeeze in time to work on personal projects like the blog. Needless to say, it’s time to update you fine people on the status quo.

Since my last update, my old laptop has once again wiped several articles I’d been preparing for the blog. Having your work constantly ripped out from under you isn’t exactly the biggest confidence booster, so it took some time to really get my head back in the right place and begin writing again. I’m now running a new, better machine with a seemingly stable memory backup, so hopefully my writing can continue unimpeded from now on.

Perhaps you’ve also noticed some cosmetic changes on the site. The long and short of it is, Heraldic Criticism will now fall under the umbrella of my new, under-construction website, RyanMaloney.com (title pending domain name approval), my latest effort to promote the entirety of my online work, all under one roof. Heraldic Criticism will now be Ryan Maloney’s Heraldic Criticism, one pillar of an ever-growing world of content from yours truly. It’s a way for me to rebrand the blog without changing names or going through the headache of re-uploading old posts and such.

I’m still working out the particulars, but one of the other big pillars under the RyanMaloney.com banner will be my Youtube channel, wherein I plan on aggressively developing a range of content, from the humorous to the educational. Among the latter is a brand new video show, tentatively titled Film as I Know It. Each episode will feature me, on-camera, speaking about the inner workings and rhetoric of a particular film from a scholarly, yet accessible and occasionally humorous perspective. Essentially, I hope for the show to be like my teaching a film class, sharing my knowledge with viewers and engaging them in discussion. I’m already in the process of writing scripts for the show and hope to debut the final, filmed episodes sometime around the summer of 2015. This has turned into quite the passion project for me, so I really hope you will all tune in for a true culmination of all my talents in multimedia.

Heraldic Criticism will continue to be the hub for all my writings, and I have big plans in store here as well. First the bad news – I will not be writing a Most Anticipated of 2015 post this year as I simply do not have the time. My list would’ve run as follows, in alphabetical order: Guillermo Del Toro’s Crimson Peak, Cameron Crowe’s Deep Tiki (or whatever they decide to call it), Ron Howard’s In the Heart of the Sea, Brad Bird’s Tomorrowland, Quentin Tarantino’s The Hateful Eight, Joss Whedon’s Avengers: Age of Ultron, Werner Herzog’s Queen of the Desert, Christopher McQuarrie’s Mission Impossible 5, Ridley Scott’s The Martian, and the returning champion, Terrence Malick’s Knight of Cups. Wild card picks go to Ant-Man and Star Wars: The Force Awakens, neither of which I’m confident about but remain interested in regardless.

Among my upcoming writings are reviews of Tusk and Dying of the Light, as well as my Top Ten of 2014, coming at the end of January (thank you, staggered release schedules). In addition, in order to combat the general lack of content on the blog lately, I will be periodically uploading my entire archive of articles from my old college newspaper, The Behrend Beacon, to the blog. Each article is presented in its original published format and will be posted here under the subheading, “From the Archives,” for your (potentially ironic) reading pleasure. Much of this material will read as outdated and irrelevant, but it is no less important for me to share some of my finest works over the past three years, and have personal online backups of them as well. Hope you enjoy this blast from the past until I get my shit together!

As I begin to exercise my other creative impulses, I once again hope you will all continue following me here and on RyanMaloney.com, as well as my new Facebook and Twitter accounts, as I continue to promote myself as a multi-talented entertainment persona. I cannot thank you enough for your support thus far; you are a continued inspiration for me to continue fighting for my passions and my career.

Thank you!

-Ryan

Leave a Reply

